Wednesday of Holy Week

Matthew 26:14-25

One of the Twelve, who was called Judas Iscariot,
went to the chief priests and said,
“What are you willing to give me
if I hand him over to you?”
They paid him thirty pieces of silver,
and from that time on he looked for an opportunity to hand him over.

On the first day of the Feast of Unleavened Bread,
the disciples approached Jesus and said,
“Where do you want us to prepare
for you to eat the Passover?”
He said,
“Go into the city to a certain man and tell him,
‘The teacher says, “My appointed time draws near;
in your house I shall celebrate the Passover with my disciples.”‘”
The disciples then did as Jesus had ordered,
and prepared the Passover.

When it was evening,
he reclined at table with the Twelve.
And while they were eating, he said,
“Amen, I say to you, one of you will betray me.”
Deeply distressed at this,
they began to say to him one after another,
“Surely it is not I, Lord?”
He said in reply,
“He who has dipped his hand into the dish with me
is the one who will betray me.
The Son of Man indeed goes, as it is written of him,
but woe to that man by whom the Son of Man is betrayed.
It would be better for that man if he had never been born.”
Then Judas, his betrayer, said in reply,
“Surely it is not I, Rabbi?”
He answered, “You have said so.”

Reflection

Well, BETRAYAL seems to be the key word today.  It is used 5 times.

This makes me reflect on times I have been ‘betrayed’ whether by a friend, political institutions, or even the Church itself.  How have I reacted?  Did I retaliate, walk away or do my best to forgive?

Poor Judas!  Forever known as the betrayer of Jesus, his greatest error was in not having any confidence in the Lord’s mercy let alone his own ability to recover as Peter did after his betrayals.

Upon reflecting on the characters in today’s readings, I see myself among them.  Sometimes I do as I am asked; sometimes I ‘follow the crowd’ and do what they do and sometimes I disappear during times of crisis.

Dear Jesus, please give us the strength that we need to give witness to the Lord during the difficult times we will face.  As you have stayed by our sides during this journey towards your death and resurrection, please give us the strength to stay by your side during your time of trial.

Action

Have you felt betrayed by someone? How can we forgive those who have betrayed our trust?

Rev. Fr. Patrick Kane

Associate Pastor at St. Francis of Assisi American National Catholic Church

Published in: on April 17, 2019 at 3:00 am  Leave a Comment