Monday of the Fifth Week of Lent

John 8:12-20

Jesus spoke to them again, saying,
“I am the light of the world.
Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness,
but will have the light of life.” 
So the Pharisees said to him,
“You testify on your own behalf,
so your testimony cannot be verified.”
Jesus answered and said to them,
“Even if I do testify on my own behalf, my testimony can be verified,     
because I know where I came from and where I am going.
But you do not know where I come from or where I am going.
You judge by appearances, but I do not judge anyone.
And even if I should judge, my judgment is valid,
because I am not alone,
but it is I and the Father who sent me.
Even in your law it is written
that the testimony of two men can be verified.
I testify on my behalf and so does the Father who sent me.”
So they said to him, “Where is your father?”
Jesus answered, “You know neither me nor my Father.
If you knew me, you would know my Father also.”
He spoke these words
while teaching in the treasury in the temple area.
But no one arrested him, because his hour had not yet come.

Reflection

Jesus in the Gospel refers to himself as the light of the world. Light as we know is vital. It is light that sustains life. Light dispels the darkness and reveals the truth. When we were baptized, we have been enlightened by Christ and so we are to walk always as a child of the light. (Rite of Baptism for Children).

In this lenten season, we are called to follow Christ, the light of the world. Jesus revealed to us the depth of God’s love for us and so he became the willing victim, offered as a sacrifice to reconcile all of us back to God. Yet even as we know this, we find ourselves at times giving into temptation. Once we go back to the path that we strayed away from, we will find our way back, for the light of Christ pierces even the darkest night of our souls.

Therefore let us continue to follow the light, who is Christ. Christ has set for us the perfect example of great love – an offering of his life. We too are expected to love to our fullest extent – to offer ourselves as a living sacrifice.

Action

As followers of Christ, is our love for God to its fullest extent? If not, what more do we need to do to bring it to completion.

Rev. Fr. Geety Reyes, FCM

Associate Pastor at St. Francis of Assisi American National Catholic Church

Published in: on April 8, 2019 at 3:00 am  Leave a Comment